The Road Gang is Washington's Transportation Fraternity.

The Road Gang is an informal group of business and government executives, highway engineers and consultants, press and public relations specialists, company representatives, and trade association officials from the highway transportation industry in the Washington, D.C. area. The Road Gang serves the dual purpose of promoting fellowship and providing for the interchange of ideas among “Washington's Transportation Fraternity.”

The organization has a current membership of about 300 individuals. Back in 1942 when the “Road Gang” was organized, the membership numbered just 25. Soon after, however, more and more local highway transportation executives were attracted to the Thursday luncheon meetings. The Road gang has increased steadily in size and variety of membership. It continues to preserve its informal “off the record” atmosphere. The programs, over the years, have touched upon practically every facet of highway transportation activity.

What really sparks the Road Gang is its mixture of camaraderie and formal tradition. One of the important traditions of the Road Gang continues to be the lively bi-monthly luncheon addresses on current highway and transportation issues, particularly when legislative matters are pending. The Road Gang’s organization has been deliberately left on the informal side, governed by an Advisory Committee of current officers and former chairmen. They and the many active members keep the Road Gang ticking, year after year.

Schedule of Events





Thu, January 14, 2016

Marriot Marquis Hotel

Road Gang Annual Meeting

Thu, February 25, 2016

Washington Court Hotel

Diarmuid O'Connell, VP of Business Development, Tesla Motors

Thu, March 10, 2016

Clyde's of Gallery Pl

Jeff Davis, Senior Fellow and Editor, Eno Transportation Weekly

Thu, March 24, 2016


Cathy Gillen, Principal, The Gillen Group

Thu, April 07, 2016


Leslie Blakey, Coalition of America’s Gateway and Trade Corridors

Thu, April 21, 2016


Rep. Earl Blumenauer, Oregon

Thu, May 05, 2016


Buddy Croft, Executive Director, Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority

Thu, May 19, 2016


Greg Cohen, President, American Highway Users Alliance

Thu, June 02, 2016


Bud Wright, Executive Director, AASHTO

Thu, June 16, 2016


Alex Herrgott, Deputy Staff Director, Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works

Fri, July 8, 2016 tentative

Univ of MD Golf Course

Tony Kane Charity Golf Tournament

Thu, September 08, 2016


Butch Waidelich, FHWA Executive Director

Thu, September 22, 2016


Rep. Lou Barletta, Pennsylvania’s 11th District

Thu, October 06, 2016


Adam Davis, Founding Partner, DHM Research 

Thu, October 20, 2016


Victor Mendez, Deputy Secretary, USDOT

Thu, November 03, 2016


Chris Spear, President, American Trucking Associations

Thu, November 17,  2016


Thu, December 01, 2016      




Elizabeth Alicandri, Associate Administrator for Safety, USDOT - FHWA

Emily Castor, Director of Transportation Policy, Lyft


Thu, December 15, 2016



Holiday Party